Anna K

1 Mar

Très chic

I have always needed lots of images around me. On my first trip to Paris at the end of the nineties I started collecting postcards and have continued ever since; famous shots by equally famous photographers in black and white, photos of singers and intellectuals , paintings, drawings, places that I visited but most of all shots of old movie stars, especially Anna Karina. I pin my collection everywhere, stick them around the mirror and on cupboard doors and the bathroom wall to remind me of other worlds and faces.

I love the fun and charm that Anna Karina brings to those early Godard films before he got all political and lost in his own referencing. She never manages to look anything less than perfect but doesn’t seem to take herself too seriously and in spite of her beauty, there’s often a kind of sadness or fragility that doesn’t make me feel intimidated.

Une Femme est une Femme

Anna and Jean Paul

Une Femme est une Femme

Bande à part

A dreamer in Bande à part

The tears of Anna

The tears at watching Jeanne d’Arc at the cinema in Vivre sa vie

Anna and Jean Luc

Anna and Jean Luc

Made in the USA

Made in the USA – femme fatale and gangster

Nana S.

Nana S. in Vivre sa vie

Anna, Jean Luc and Jean-Claude

Flower power

At university I used to borrow French films from the library instead of studying philosophy and in spite of the fact that my French wasn’t so good back then. Often I would struggle to follow the dialogue without subtitles but the clip below from 0:50 to 1:08 with Michel Legrand’s music made me dream of being in young in Paris in the 60s.

4 Responses to “Anna K”

  1. Tracy March 4, 2011 at 6:36 pm #

    We just watched Vivre Sa Vie about two weeks ago. Talk about beautiful.

  2. emilycinephile March 5, 2011 at 6:35 am #

    It’s such an amazing film and I saw it the other night for only the second time and could even understand the dialogue, whereas the first time I just focused on the photography. So beautiful and true; the bit where she cries in the cinema is heartbreaking.

  3. Des March 6, 2011 at 2:51 am #

    Wow, this blog looks great. There’s nothing better than discussing films. I’m looking forward to seeing what you do next in this space.

    • emilycinephile March 6, 2011 at 10:42 am #

      Thanks for stopping by Des! I was also inspired by your blog and how you write about different cultural things which interest you. I see so many films without really analysing them and that seems a pity.

Leave a Reply

